AutomatedGenealogy.com

AutomatedGenealogy Volunteer and User Forum
It is currently Sun Mar 24, 2019 7:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 4
For the last two days I have not been able to make links to the 1911 census. When I navigate to the 1911 page I want, the page that appears does not have the link icon, but rather the Search link. There is no problem with the 1901 census.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:57 am
Posts: 298
Hi Judy -

Are you sure you are signed on to 1911 as well as 1901? The configuration of the 1911 page has changed recently but the icon for linking a record appears in 1911 under the "Add Link" column as long as you are signed in. I've done some 1901 to 1911 linking this morning without hinderance.

Please let us know if this doesn't address your problem.

Thanks. Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 4
I regularly link names on at least five pages a day from the 1901 census. My standard procedure is to sign in to the linking centre, then from "Add a Record to Link Centre" I select first 1901, then proceed to the page I want and click on a name which then appears in the linking centre, then I select 1911 and do the same thing. I have never had to sign in to 1901 and 1911 separately. However, for the last few days, when I do this, 1901 works as always, but 1911 does not show the linking icon, the Links column may have links already done, but the only clickable column is "Search" with both 1901 and Search being clickable. If the procedure has changed, do I really have to sign in to Linking Centre as well as to 1901 and 1911 census records?

Thanks for your help,
Judy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 6:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:28 am
Posts: 6
Location: Vancouver
I haven't done a link a while but have done lots in the past. I am experiencing exactly the same problem. It does not appear to be possible to sign in to the linking centre more than once.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 4
Seems it is indeed now necessary to sign in to 1911 before signing in to Linking Centre in order to get the "Add Link" column and icon to appear for 1911 pages. An added nuisance, it seems to me, as it was so simple to sign in only once, as was the case until this week.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:57 am
Posts: 298
The ability to link without signing into each census has been restored (as long as you have signed into the Linking Centre).

Thanks for all the linking you have been doing.

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 4
Merci mille fois! Now I can get back to doing a page or so every time I have a few minutes.
Judy


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group